SRHS Student Elections

By Sammi Bellinghausen

Every year during Spring semester, Santa Rosa hIgh School student elections take place. There are many different positions in which one can run for. For incoming sophomores, juniors, and seniors there are three spots, the treasurer/secretary, vice president, and president. As a senior there are three more positions to run for and that is ASB president, ASB vice president, ASB and treasurer/secretary. ASB stands for, “all student body,” meaning they are responsible for communication with administration, signing off on supplies for events, and helping direct events for the school.

For the incoming sophomores, the new class President is Pasha Toub. The new sophomore class vice president is Matias Fullerton. And the Treasurer/Secretary is Remington Gack. Matias and Remington ran unopposed, meanwhile Pasha has others who ran against him. These three boys will be the leaders of the Sophomore class in the year of 2018-2019.

The 2018-2019 incoming junior class President is Aly McKnight. The junior class Vice President is Ella Gaudreau. The junior class Treasurer/Secretary is Jenna Lopez. These three lovely ladies also upheld the same positions for their Freshman and Sophomore years at SRHS. All three of them ran unopposed in the elections for the 2018-2019 school year.

In the SRHS elections for the school year of 2018-2019 there were six different spots in which incoming seniors could run for. Starting off with the class officers, the new 2018-2019 senior class president is Juan Pablo “JP” Juarez. This is JP’s first year ever participating in Student Government. The new senior class Vice President is Andre Gaudreau. And the new senior class Treasurer/ Secretary is Cooper Fox. Cooper ran unopposed, meanwhile Andre ran opposed.

For the highest positions in which students at Santa Rosa High School can run for are ASB. The new ASB President is Emily Wong. In the past 2017-2018 year Emily was the Sonoma County Outstanding Teen. Wong is very involved with the community and strives for excellence in everything she does. The new ASB Vice President is Makenzie Mathewson. And the new ASB Treasurer/Secretary is Olivia Ruggels. Makenzie and Emily both ran opposed, meanwhile Ruggels ran without competition.


Photo by Rachel Owen


You might also like